Customer Reviews for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at JCPenney.

Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse

Color Me Playhouse brings customized playhouse fun with an entire house that kids can color themselves. It's like a 3D coloring book for kids to play in!   2 mail slots, 2 mobile doors and 4 windows with shutters hassle-free, easy to set up and built for kid-tough for all-day play arts-and-crafts style entertainment as an eco-friendly alternative to plastic play houses folds and unfolds for convenient play time Color Me Playhouse is cardboard. Measures 48x36x60"H. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
Review 1 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

kids had a great time in it

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Written By: 
from queens, NY
Age: 50-60
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Frequently
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User submitted photo
" I brought it for my Grandson's 1st birthday party. The kids were occupied the whole time coloring it and playing in it. I brought washable markers that worked great. After the party, I folded it up and brought it home it was still in good condition for more play use. "
Pros easy to put together
Cons a bit flimsy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Babysitter

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Written By: 
from Ga
Age: Over 60
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Frequently
" As grandparents we found in the past our grandkids would get bored on Christmas Eve, when the whole family would get together. They sent hours coloring the playhouse, They are from ages 1 1/2 to 12. We were able to put it back in the box for the next visit. They had loads of fun. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is wonderful!!

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Written By: 
from Marion, IL
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? First time
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was skeptical to buy this at first but my daughter really wanted it. I was afraid that it would be cheaply made and not last very long. WOW, was I wrong! This playhouse is made of durable cardboard, super easy to assemble and gives hours of entertainment. I highly recommend this!! "
Pros Durable cardboard, easy assembly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

10 year old daughter was thrilled

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Written By: 
from Wyoming
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The playhouse was fun for multiple children to set up and color. We used some crayons but it might go faster if you used markers. For the price it was an impressive gift! "
Pros came in a neat box prior to setting up
Cons does take up a good amount of room and we had to tape some of the spots together
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids loved it!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Written By: 
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Is bigger than you think, and kept kids busy for hours. Was a huge hit this Christmas, bought them for all the kids!! Sure is worth the money! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids love this!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Written By: 
from Columbus, OH
Age: Over 60
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this playhouse after learning that my Grand-nephew had played in a packing box until it disintegrated. After his dad assembled the house ( it quickly went together), this little 2½ year old was so excited! The first thing he put in it was his potty chair so he'd have a bathroom, then started "decorating" it with toys and whatever he could find. It was the biggest hit of any toy I've ever given to a child. He's a little young to color the house, but hopefully it will stay together long enough he can do that, with help, pretty soon. The house is larger than I expected, but that is good, since the child will have plenty of room for all the stuff they'll want to put in it. Be sure you have a fairly large open space to set this up, and you'll have a very happy child. "
Pros An inexpensive way to make a child very happy
Cons None so far
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice surprise

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Written By: 
from MN
Age: Over 60
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Frequently
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My grandkids love them. They play in them and add some new color or decoration everyday. I never expected them to stay interested so long in decorating them with color, stickers,etc. Great gift for a great price. They love the windows! It's a fun thing for parents or Grandparents to do with the children "
Pros Actually quite strong for being just cardboard. Lots of little windows and doors for them to enjoy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT gift!

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Written By: 
from Kentucky
Age: 50-60
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Frequently
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought a Playhouse for my grandson and one for my nephew - both are 3 years old. They LOVE their houses (my grandson calls his a Castle)! They are large enough for the grown-ups to climb in with them too! They put their couch sleepers in them, their storage box of favorite toys, their portable DVD players, and we put stick-on push lights in them. They love coloring them too! These houses are such a big hit, I'm ordering another set of them, just in case they wear them out! They are easy to assemble - don't even need to use the directions! While the cardboard bends, especially the door, we used clear packing tape to reinforce it. I highly recommend this playhouse! "
Pros Easy to assemble, lots of room, fun to color.
Cons Cardboard bends, especially at the door.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice house!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Written By: 
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Frequently
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This house is big but I love the size of it I can actually play with my daughter. Last Christmas she had got a kitchen and I put it inside the house. My daughter loves this house she plays with her baby dolls inside and its hours of coloring. And it was very easy to put together didn’t even have to read the direction I just look at picture on the outside of the box. "
Pros It's big enough for everyone
Cons none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

so so

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Written By: 
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
" Well my daughter Samantha-Lynn just turned 5 on Thursday and had a birthday party yesterday. One of her friends got her this and I am returning it tomorrow because we have no room for it and Samantha is not really showing interest in it. She has not asked us to remove it from the box and when I said where bringing it back she said fine.Its to big and bulky and we have to mush stuff already. "
-37points
0of 37voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sfmd
Ridiculous
Posted December 27, 2011
Do you know what a product review is? Running the average rating of a product down just because you got it as a gift and aren't sure you have the room for it is ridiculous. Please only review products you have actually used and can provide some feedback on as a user.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome for the money!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Written By: 
from Denton, MD
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my 6 yr old son on Black Friday for a Christmas gift but we were so anxious to build it that we just set it up the same night. It is a great deal for the money & will consume hours worth of fun and he even slept in it last night & wants to again tonight! He has set up housekeeping inside with chair, table, treats, bedding, & his pet hermit crab! We have both colored on it inside & out (he drew his own microwave, fridge, & sink on inside). Has kept him occupied for hours. I have a daycare & cant wait for all the kids to get here next week to join in the fun! "
Pros Hours of excitement & fun. Big enough for several tots at a time.
Cons Door threshold looks like it could rip easily but this is not a big deal.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Playhouse!

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Written By: 
from IL
Age: 25-29
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My 3 yr. old son received this as a Christmas present from his aunt and uncle and he just loves it! It was very easy to set up and although it's large it's great! I am only 5' and can fit in there and sit down. My son has also set up a rocking chair, all of his toy buddies, and a portable dvd player in the house. It is officially his man cave now! We also bought washable markers and we have been coloring every day since we got it. We do a little at a time though so that way it's special and we can really jazz it up! He loves this house! I had bought my son a play tent, but down went the play tent and the house has been up ever since! I am thinking about buying a couple of them....some for replacements when this one breaks, and some for gifts! My son did tear the bottom of the doorway within the first two hours, but nothing a little masking tape can't fix! We both LOVE it! "
Pros Can color, Easy to set up and take down, big enough to fit a couple of kids and/ or two grown ups.
Cons Very large!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps kids of all ages busy!!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Written By: 
from Pennsylvania
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Occasionally
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this for my 3 children ages 6, 4, and 18 months for Christmas, and we all love it!! It is big though, so make sure you have space for it. It easily fits all 3 kids and they all are in the 90% in height and weight range to give you an idea of size. They all love coloring their own part and even the boys love it! I just use washable markers, just in case my daughter decides to be an artist somewhere else. I actually had my daughter color inside (18 month old) and the boys color the outisde, so we didn't have scribbles everywhere to get the boys upset. They love the mailboxes and I used index cards to decorate to slip through the slots. The doors are so cute and there are two of them, so it makes it easy to get in and out. The shutters open for games of peek-a-boo too. It will take them hours to color it - trust me! It is nice b/c they can color it, but still play in it anytime. Very cute present that any kid will love!!! Just remember that it is cardboard, so don't expect the sturdiest house, but so far my kids have not ruined it and it is still standing with 2 boys and an active 18 month old! I would tell any mom or dad to buy this for their child or children. "
Pros easy to fold down when not needed, acts as playhouse, can fit 3 kids easily, fun to color pictures, loads of fun
Cons some parts like the door base are not as sturdy, but other than that, no complaints
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Discovery Kids Color Me Cardboard Playhouse
overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mild purchase

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Written By: 
from AZ
Age: 25-29
Gender: Female
How often do you shop at JCPenney? Frequently
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" My kids loved it they spent hours playing with it they totally loved it but, what I don't like is that when they rip the tears come to me not to jcp. I totally dont like it so much then because their is no replacement. I woulld still recomend it because the price was not so high. "
Pros kids love it wow, they really do
Cons it is to ripable and it rips for whatever it feels
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
randomcustomer
california
BUY 3 IF YOU CAN
Posted December 28, 2011
1 to use. 1 to store (for future gift). 1 for xtra to set up when ur kids having a rainy day (neighbor cottage! or add-on!) Got 1 for my 6 yr son last yr., took down & gave to neighbor kid after 6 mos. This yr got 4 my 15 mo gran-daughter and my son is lamenting that I should have kept his! (even at the time he said it okay to give away). We taped up family photos on inside, drew fireplace. Mom can relax AND play w/kids by doodling on one flower pedal off and on for fun. Keep the box for storage. Best present!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
My2Boyz
2 year old loves it
Posted December 29, 2010
We received this as a Christmas gift and I agree it that it can rip up. The person who bought this for him thought it was tall not long because it says 5' tall. The correction should read 5 feet long. I had something similar when I was a kid and I remember my father reinforcing it so that it would last longer. Since my 2 yr old is such a boy and rough with everything I used some colorful duct tape to reinforce the roof inside and out and base of the house. With the roof in place it keeps the rest from caving in. He loves coloring with mommy and hiding inside with daddy and big brother (not at the same time lol).
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)